Hope

Hope is one of the most precious things. When you’re diagnosed with cancer, it’s hope that help gets you through. When the cancer becomes advanced and incurable you cling onto that hope.

You hope for clever doctors and you hope for exciting new developments. You hope that the next treatment will do amazing things.

This is the clinical trial that I was part of. I’m proud to have been one of the patients on this new chemo.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-32917141

Yes it is remarkable!

It reversed the progress of my disease. Almost six months on from finishing the trial it seems like this chemo has changed the nature of my cancer. Made it less aggressive. It’s now giving me the longest break from treatment since I was told that I had cancer in 2011. Plus it didn’t make my hair didn’t fall out which is a lovely bonus.

To all those involved, thank you so very much.

20 thoughts on “Hope

  1. What lovely lovely news to read. So pleased you’ve been given a bit of a break.

  2. In the week when I heard of the untimely death of a brave 38 year old lady from this pernicious disease, your news is truly wonderful.

    Helen, I hope you can be free of further treatment for a long time to come.

  3. Oh Helen, such wonderful news – will be seeing you sometime through the summer. Sending you love and good strong positive thoughts. Jeannie Marshall

  4. Absolutely wonderful post and wonderful news for you and your loved ones. I hope you don’t mind but I have reposted this on my facebook page. Have a lovely weekend. xx

  5. Love a positive and upbeat news story! And great for you and all the others involved.

  6. That is fabulous news Helen. Long may it last. You deserve it. Big hugs x x

  7. Yes, great news – and so pleased to hear it. It’s now 24 years since my treatment for bone mets, so I hope you are as lucky as me. xx

  8. Fantastic news Helen.
    I have been trying to think of a replacement image to your James Bond killing the evil disease, but HOPE you can just set about the remaining List for Living challenges.
    Keep smiling x

  9. It’s the rest of us who should be thanking you for taking part in these trials, not knowing what side effects they may have or whether they’ll do any good: without people like you we’d never have the treatments to stop people suffering the way you’ve been enduring in the future.

    So thank you Helen and I hope that this one gives you a very long break, you deserve it.

  10. Delighted for you- hope you enjoy the summer and days filled with light warmth and hope.

Comments are closed.