Hot hair!

This heat wave has made me to do something I’d rather not have done. I’ve been forced to ditch the wigs much sooner than I’d planned.

Even on the dullest of days when it’s cold outside they are annoying to wear. A wig is like a hat you aren’t able to take off. So this sweltering weather has made it unbearable. Please spare a thought for the far too warm wigged-up women. There are more of us than you realise.

I’ve already managed to cut down on my wig wearing. Candice and Raquel really don’t get out much this days. However I still wear a wig for work and important occasions. That was until last week. It was so hot that I couldn’t bear it any longer. It was making me feel ill so it had to come off.

wig

It’s strange and scary to go without a wig in public. I’m used to having long hair but now it’s incredibly short. Sometimes I forget and have a shock when I look in the mirror. I no longer see the healthy person I used to be.

Considering everything I’ve been through I still find it hard to comprehend why it continues to matter quite so much. After all it’s only hair and I’m not bald anymore. The funny thing is that to the outside world I look well.

But my lack of hair reminds me of the deadly disease that’s in my body, currently, hopefully, still asleep. I didn’t suddenly decide to have a cropped cut. The cancer did that.

I’m trying to make the most of what I’ve got while I’ve still got it. I went to see my lovely hairdresser Angela and she managed to do something with the unruly regrowth. I now have an actual hairstyle and I like it a whole lot more. I’d say that anyone growing their hair back after chemo should get it properly cut sooner rather than later. It was amazing how much better it made me feel.

Even so, I’m not quite ready to put all my wigs away just yet. Besides today there’s going to be torrential rain and I’m going to need a hat…

10 thoughts on “Hot hair!

  1. It’s amazing the strength of feeling we have around the hair issue. Like you say, after all else we go through, it could be deemed a trivial affair. Yet it’s not, is it? I’m sorry to coin a cliché but for me, it has been liberating.

    I cried while my hair was being shaved off because of the reasons you’ve written about here. My long curls were very much a part of my identity, but I went publicly and proudly bald and now I’m loving my new (been two years now) cropped look. It looks good, which not everyone’s does, I know. But it also reminds me that I’ve survived so much nasty treatment, that I’m a different person now, that life is short and for me probably even shorter, so how precious and exciting it is, how many opportunities there are and how important it is to grab them with both hands and do things I might not have dared to do previously.

    I wish you’d post a photo of the new short hair do… I’d love to see it and I bet you still look hot. Pretty please! x

    • I love your attitude! Yes no hair/short hair is like a survivors medal. To be worn with pride :) I promise I will post a photo, soon-ish! x

  2. Hi Helen

    When I was a child I caught ringworm from the cattle at home and had to have my head shaved – after having long blonde hair it was quite a shock for a nine year old child. The doctor at the Radcliffe called me curly – without a hair on my head. But yes it grew back dark and curly. When I went back to school I used to wear a horrible bobble hat, so ditching the hat (wig) I can relate to.

    Hang on in there girl and hope to get to see you and your mum this summer.

    Jeannie Marshall

    ======================================== Message Received: Jul 23 2013, 07:45 AM

  3. The hair issue really is a tricky, individual thing, isn’t it? I cut all mine off prior to treatment and dealt with baldness fairly well. What I am having a hell of a time accepting is what has grown back: thin, super curly and a hideous mouse brown. I used to have very very thick hair. I know the length and color are temporary but at 3 inches long there isn’t enough to work with without committing to heavy maintenance. So, 8 months out from chemo I am never without a hat in public.

    I’m glad you have a good style…..maybe you will inspire me to deal with mine sooner rather than later!

  4. Agree with all that you say about wigs. Horrible things. Worse to cope with than losing my hair,was losing my eyebrows.

  5. Hair loss is such an individual thing. When I lost my hair I would look in the mirror and ask “Who is that?” . I wore hats and scarves during treatment. I did have a wig but wore it less than a dozen times through initial treatment and treatment for my recurrence. Less than 2 months after finishing chemo I was on an Alaskan cruise and did get a few odd and then “Oh so sad” looks because of my peach fuzz hair but it didn’t stop me for doing anything.

  6. Helen, I have ovarian cancer too and reading your blog always gives a little boost knowing someone else is going through simile experience. Today though I absolutely laughed out loud. You are an inspiration!

  7. Hope all going well and you are happy and healthy. You are in my thoughts. Xx

  8. Helen… Can I just point out that you look awsome with your short cut and I wish I had come up with the idea before and taken credit for it!!! Xxx

Comments are closed.