James Bond is back!

It wasn’t so long ago, that just like today, I woke up stupidly early. Back then a heady combination of steroids and nervous energy meant that I couldn’t sleep. That was the morning back in May when I started chemotherapy.

I knew it was going to be horrendous but I was also well aware of just how important it was. All the tumours had been removed but I needed this to get rid of any teeny tiny cancery cells that might still be hanging around.

As I lay awake in the dark I thought about how the chemo was going to work. I’d been told how cancer fighters often come up with unusual ways of thinking about the treatment to try to take away some of the terror.

This is what I wrote in my blog post, Licence to Kill:

“I tried to think about what it would be like when the drugs went in. I turned every drop from the drip into a killing machine. A kinda James Bond. I imagined my own microscopic army of special agents. Just in case you’re wondering, I’m thinking Daniel Craig as James Bond….

…Anyway, I’m picturing my troops being launched into the killing zone with charm, cunning and a wry smile. Their mission is to destroy any rogue cancer cells.”

A few hours later when the toxic cocktail began to seep into my veins and poison my body, that’s what I focused on. It was the violent visualisation that I used during all the other sessions of chemo too. Whenever I was worried that potentially evil cells may be lurking inside me, I also thought about this fully loaded 007 army. They helped to shoot away my fears.

After six sessions of chemo it was mission accomplished. I got the all clear – the best news ever! The James Bonds had done the business. Of course, along with the drugs and the doctors etc etc. Since then the test results have been great.

So, back to this morning.

It’s a few months on from that first day of chemo; again I’ve woken up all excited and jittery and thinking about James Bond.

This time I’m not imagining gun-toting-cancer-killing-secret-agents blasting away at killer cells. No, I’m picturing 007 on a big screen. A mahoosive big screen. Daniel Craig is sat in the audience, all dressed up in black tie, surrounded by his co-stars. I’m there too. We’re all watching the latest movie. The difference is, this isn’t something else that I’ve just dreamt up; soon this will be for real.

You see, tonight I have a date with James Bond – I’ve been invited to the world premiere of Skyfall!!

The timing is brilliant. I’m finally feeling better than I have done in ages and now I’m off to a red carpet event in London featuring the very character that I thought of so much during the chemo.

It’s all thanks to the Willow Foundation. The charity was set up by Arsenal legend Bob Wilson and his wife Megs in memory of their daughter Anna who died from cancer at the age of 31. It aims to help young adults dealing with serious illnesses by arranging something amazing for them.

Already it feels special. Yesterday a man on a motorbike turned up at my house. Tall with broad shoulders, he was dressed all in black. As I opened the door, he gave me a wry smile and a large plain white envelope.

“Skyfall tickets,” he said.

“Yes,” I nodded.

“I’ve been expecting you…”

11 thoughts on “James Bond is back!

  1. Oh Helen…I’m so envious!!! Have a blast of a time, and give Daniel a wee wink from me!!

    • Thanks Rosie! I gave him a little wink but there must have been so many others doing the same that he must have thought there were lots of people with something wrong with their eyes!!

  2. Wow, that is so exciting Helen. You have been an inspiration, and your blog has made me laugh and cry, but most of all you have an amazing zest for life, which just touches all those that have been following your experiences. I am a cancer survivor, and I look at life in a completely different way now. why wait to do things when you can do them now. Have a wonderful time, wish I could be there. Kay

    • Kay, wow thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It makes doing this blog all worth while. You’re so right having cancer makes you realise you have to do everything you fancy now and not wait! I wish you had been there too so I could have thanked you as we walked down the red carpet :)

  3. Hope you had a good time tonight Helen. By all accounts from the reviews it’s the best Bond movie ever. Glad to hear recovery continues to go well!

  4. Yay. Now tuning into the news channels to see if I can catch a glimpse of the bestest bravest Bond believer. Hope you’re having fun x

    • I knew one day I’d make it onto Sky News ;) There was so much going on around us that I didn’t notice M until we almost walked into the camera crew!

Comments are closed.