Finally … toast-op

Hooray! This is the wonderful white bread moment that I was waiting for.

My post-op toast.

Image
I actually had this several days ago but it’s only now I feel well enough to be able to write about it.

I was so very ill following the cancer surgery last week that I was nil by mouth for the best part of a week. The only thing I was given was the occasional ice cube to suck on. I graduated to a few teaspoons of water. Woah, easy there!

On the big day, I was given a mug of tea and I felt like I could conquer the world. Then that evening, along with more pale tea, it arrived. I got two slices of hot toast with butter and raspberry jam.

Total bliss.

Just tasting real food after so long was incredible. And quite weird too. It was almost like I’d never eaten something with so much intense flavour. I was only able to manage one piece of toast.

It was amazing, yes. Better than I thought it would be. It was something that made me very happy.

But there was problem with my first proper meal – I was eating it while in intensive care.

Something went very very wrong after surgery.  I will write about this properly in the coming days. Lets just say it was horrendous but I’m fine now. Well, as good as you can be after major surgery.

That’s why I didn’t want to celebrate my hospital toast-op until I truly felt like I was recovering. Now finally I do. I’m confident that I’m over the worst.

I also hope that I’ll never ever have to taste that toast again.

24 thoughts on “Finally … toast-op

  1. Welcome back lovely lady! What an ordeal you’ve been through. So very pleased you’re on the road to recovery now. May it be paved with many delights as good, or better than that post-op toast! x

  2. I know I’ve only been following you a short time, but it is good to see you back. I’m glad you are on the road to recovery. I hope we hear more from you soon. Sara x

  3. So so glad your pea is in the past and you are ready for raspberries now. Been missing you. But gently does it. Xxx

  4. Hello Helen
    I am so pleased to finally read that you got your toast!
    May you continue to go from strength to strength.
    Sending hugs and prayers
    x

  5. I’ve been waiting anxiously for this news, that you’re back in communicatin with your friends and well-wishers. Well done for progressing so brilliantly, and keep on taking those steps towards full recovery. You’re clearly a feisty fighter!

  6. Helen

    Your latest post fills me with both sadness and hope for you – I really hope it’s onwards and upwards from now on, even for a better strength of tea and a biscuit perhaps?
    Best wishes
    Natalie

  7. Have been thinking of you Helen. I’m so glad you’re recovering from the op and that you had your piece of toast! x

  8. Helen, what can I say.

    We have never met, but I was pointed in the direction of your blog by a retweet on Twitter.

    Having read the blog I can only offer my sympathy that you are battling disease again, and hope that things soon start picking up for you.

    And thank you for sharing your experiences with us, I have recently started a new blog myself and find it a great way to de-stress.

    I hope I’ll be reading lots of examples of positive news from you in the coming weeks (and that toast looks delicious!)

    All the very best,
    Joe

  9. Helen I also have only been following you for a short while but am so glad to hear that you are on the road to recovery…..it sounds like it’s not been plain sailing, but let’s hope the best is yet to come….love and prayers….xxx

  10. love a nice slice of toast! However the intensive care bit was a little scary. Really pleased you are recovering and wish you many more slices of toast.

  11. So glad to hear from you! I’m endlessly grateful to Chantal, but I was awitnig for you posts, as they would be a sign of the beginning of your recovery. Sending lots of love, strength and smiles your way!

  12. Hi Helen, sending some good cheer and optimism your way. Glad to hear you’re feeling better post-op!

  13. Yay so glad you’re writing again and feeling better. Stay positive!

    My friend who had a life-threateningly bad experience after she gave birth loved reading your toast story – she has talked to me before about it being the best meal of her life!

    M xx

  14. Wonderful to hear you’re post-op and post-toast. So pleased you’re on the road to recovery.

  15. So pleased Helen you are on the mend i bet that toast tasted like nectar take care all the best Pat (SW)

  16. Glad you are back from a very long radio silence. I will never munch a piece of toast without enjoying it properly again.

  17. Good to know you’re back in the game Helen, and great to hear from you Keep on keeping on

  18. Hi Helen
    Looking forward to the next installment! So glad you’re feeling better at last, I was getting quite anxious. I’ve been doing extra lengths in the swimming pool for your recovery :)
    Christine xx

  19. Wonderful news! So pleased you are on the way back up Helen old fruit but as Lisa says, easy does it. Bite-size chunks (of toast!) for now! Tris Xxx

  20. Helen,

    That smile you gave me yesterday when i gave you your gift from all your work pals, pricesless moment – made my year!! look forward to the half way party xx
    Mwah xxx

  21. Helen – so relieved to get the update – even if it has been hard to hear about you in such a bad way. Now you’re back on the toast, I’m breathing a sigh of relief…..
    Love you lots, Sinead

Comments are closed.